Fast Facts: Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 24/03/2016
  • By V8 Supercars

1. Red Bull Racing Australia is the team to beat at Symmons Plains given it has clean-swept the last two years, winning the last six V8 Supercars Championship races in a row at the Tasmanian circuit. The record for most race wins in a row by a team there is seven, set by the Holden Racing Team across 1995, 1996 and 1997.

2. Nissan Motorsport’s Michael Caruso arrives in Tasmania as the V8 Supercars Championship leader for the first time in his career. The last time a Nissan driver sat at the top of the championship pointscore was back in June 1992 when Mark Skaife was crowned champion at the completion of the final round at Oran Park in Sydney.

Michael Caruso of the Nissan Motorsport during the Clipsal 500,  at the Adelaide Street Circuit, Adelaide, South Australia, March 05, 2016.

3. Jamie Whincup holds the record for the most race wins in ATCC/V8SC history at Symmons Plains with 11. Peter Brock still holds the record for most Symmons Plains pole positions.

Jamie Whincup of Red Bull Racing Australia during the Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint, Event 02 of the 2015 Australian V8 Supercar Championship Series at the Symmons Plains Raceway, Launceston, Tasmania, March 29, 2015.

4. Holden is eyeing its 500th ATCC/V8SC race win when its teams arrive in Tasmania. A total of 499 races have been won by Holdens since the first was claimed by Norm Beechey at Surfers Paradise in 1969 aboard a Monaro.

5. DJR Team Penske’s Fabian Coulthard is scheduled to start his 300th V8 Supercars Championship race on Saturday – Symmons Plains is an important venue in his career given he scored his first podium result there back in 2009.

Fabian Coulthard DJR Team Penske 2016 test day

6. The Sunday race at Symmons Plains will be DJR Team Penske’s 800th ATCC/V8SC race. Dick Johnson Racing made its ATCC debut in the opening round of the 1981 championship at Symmons Plains (where Dick Johnson beat home Peter Brock to claim his team’s first ATCC race win) and morphed into DJR Team Penske last year.

7. Holden drivers have won the last 10 races in a row at Symmons Plains spread across Triple Eight Race Engineering (seven wins) and Brad Jones Racing (three wins).

8. The Safety Car is quite likely to appear at some stage over the weekend at Symmons Plains. The SC has appeared in 22 of the last 32 races at the circuit (68.75 per cent) and the last time a round was completed there without a single SC period was back in 1998.

9. Qualifying sixth at Symmons Plains is not a good omen – no driver has ever won a race in championship history at the circuit starting from that grid position!

10. This year is the 44th time an Australian Touring Car Championship/V8 Supercars Championship round has been held at Symmons Plains. Only Sandown in Melbourne has hosted the championship more times.

Tickets are available for the Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint now, with the event kicking off on Friday.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter