Fast Facts - Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 31/03/2017
  • By Aaron Noonan

1. Holden drivers have dominated in recent times at Symmons Plains, claiming the last 12 Supercars race wins in a row at the 2.4-kilometre venue. The last non-Commodore win came in the Saturday race in 2012 by Will Davison for Ford Performance Racing (now Prodrive Racing Australia).

2. Garth Tander will move to second place on the all-time championship round starts list at Symmons Plains. The Wilson Security GRM Commodore pilot will start his 254th round, moving by Russell Ingall in the history books. Craig Lowndes holds the record and begins his 266th round in Tasmania.

On track

3. This year’s Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint will be the 45th time the championship has visited Symmons Plains since the Australian Touring Car Championship first appeared there in 1969. Only Sandown in Melbourne has hosted more championship events, making Symmons Plains a very special part of touring car racing history in this country.

4. Will Davison won the Sunday race in Tasmania last year and his TEKNO Autosports team will rack up a special milestone in this year’s Saturday race. The reigning Bathurst champion team will start its 200th Virgin Australia Supercars Championship race, having debuted as a stand-alone team in Abu Dhabi back in 2011.

Will Davison of Tekno Autosports during the Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint,  at the Symmons Plains Raceway, Launceston, Tasmania, April 03, 2016.

5. DJR Team Penske heads to Tasmania with plenty of confidence after finishing 1-2 overall in the non-championship event at Albert Park. It’s been a long time between drinks at Symmons Plains though for the team, winless there since John Bowe won Race 1 in 1995 and without a Tasmanian pole position since 1999 (Paul Radisich).

6. Mark Winterbottom is one of the most consistent drivers in the Supercars Championship at Symmons Plains. He has a 100% finishing record (34 finishes from 34 race starts) and has finished in the top 10 in 27 of his last 28 races there, 22 of those results in the top five. His only win in Tasmania though came in the Sunday race in 2010.

Mark Winterbottom of Prodrive Racing Australia during the Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint,  at the Symmons Plains Raceway, Launceston, Tasmania, April 03, 2016.

7. The Symmons Plains Supercars lap record has managed to survive for seven years. Rick Kelly set it in 2009 in the first year of the Dunlop soft tyre’s use in the championship - his lap time was 51.4713-seconds.

8. Qualifying well on a relatively short track like Symmons Plains is ultra-important. Just once in the last 21 Supercars races there has the winner come from outside the top three positions on the grid - Jamie Whincup started fifth and won the Sunday race in 2012, even despite a mid-race spin at the hairpin.

Jamie Whincup of Triple Eight Racing during the Tasmania Challenge, event 02 of the 2012 Australian V8 Supercar Championship Series at the Symmons Plains Raceway, Launceston, Tasmania, March 31, 2012.

9. Jamie Whincup could create history in Tasmania if he can win both races. He starts the weekend with 104 championship race wins, one behind Triple Eight teammate Craig Lowndes. Whincup holds the record for most race wins in championship history at Symmons Plains - 11 - while Lowndes is second on the all-time Tassie wins list with nine.

10. The Dunlop Super2 Series will make its first appearance in its 18-year history at Symmons Plains this year. The circuit becomes the 15th to host a round of the Super2 Series since it was established in 2000 and will be the first to host a four-race weekend in series history.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter