Fast Facts - Barbagallo

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 30/04/2018
  • By Aaron Noonan, V8 Sleuth

1. This year marks the 41st time the Australian Touring Car Championship/Virgin Australia Supercars Championship has visited Barbagallo Raceway in Western Australia.

The first round was held in 1973 and since '78 it has hosted a round of the championship every year, bar 2010.

2. Ford drivers have taken the last seven pole positions in a row at Barbagallo covering 2015, '16 and '17. Those poles have been shared between five drivers; Chaz Mostert, Mark Winterbottom, Cameron Waters, Fabian Coulthard and Scott McLaughlin.

3. Craig Lowndes has scored more race wins in championship history at Barbagallo than any other driver with 16. That means that 15 percent of his 106 championship race wins have come at the Western Australian circuit.


4. Jamie Whincup has the most poles in championship history at Barbagallo with eight. However, he has not scored a pole at the circuit since 2013, a drought of five years covering 10 races.

5. Milwaukee Racing’s Will Davison will start his 400th Virgin Australia Supercars Championship race on the Sunday at Barbagallo.

He’s a three-time race winner at the circuit, taking two wins in 2012 for Ford Performance Racing and another in 2015 for Erebus Motorsport.

6. Seven drivers in the 2018 Supercars field have won before at Barbagallo in Supercars; Lowndes, Whincup, Mark Winterbottom, McLaughlin, Garth Tander, Mostert and Davison.

Scott McLaughlin of DJR Team Penske during the Perth SuperSprint,  at the Barbagallo Raceway, Wanneroo, Western Australia, May 05, 2017.

7. No driver has ever won an ATCC/VASC race at Barbagallo from eighth or ninth on the grid.

The lowest grid position for a winner of a championship race in Perth was 12th. Peter Brock started there to win both races in 1978 and then Larry Perkins also achieved it in Race 1 in 1997.

8. The Safety Car has made an appearance in just one of the last 10 Barbagallo races, the final race in 2015.

9. The closest ‘racing’ finish in Supercars at Barbagallo remains 0.1164 seconds between Perkins and John Bowe in Race 1 in 1997.

10. There are five Barbagallo Supercars rookies in this year’s field; Jack Le Brocq, James Golding, Todd Hazelwood, Richie Stanaway and Anton de Pasquale.

Le Brocq won the round the last time the Dunlop Super2 Series visited the circuit in 2016 while Golding finished on the podium.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter