Crash shakes up PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge order

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 20/06/2019
  • By Mitchell Adam

Tim Slade's early crash on Saturday at Hidden Valley has cost long-time leader Freightliner Racing in the PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge.

The Brad Jones Racing #14 has sat atop the order since the second of nine events, at Albert Park in March.

It led a BJR one-two heading to the BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown, but Slade was eliminated from Saturday's race on lap two in a clash with Rick Kelly.

That meant Slade did not complete a pitstop to score PIRTEK Challenge points, falling from first with an 11-point buffer to third.

The better news for BJR is that Nick Percat's Dunlop-backed entry was third-fastest through pitlane, and duly moves from second into the top spot.

His crew holds a 10-point lead over Jamie Whincup's Red Bull Holden Racing Team #88, which was fifth-fastest to climb to second from fourth.

Whincup's effort on 123 is one ahead of Slade, with rounds at the Century Batteries Ipswich SuperSprint and OTR SuperSprint to come.

After that, the top four entries proceed to the grand final at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000, with the major prize of $20,000 and PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge Golden Rattle Gun up for grabs.

PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge points after seven events

Pos Crew Points
1 Brad Jones Racing #8 133
2 Red Bull Holden Racing Team #88 123
3 Freightliner Racing #14 122
4 Supercheap Auto Racing #55 120
5 The Bottle-O Racing Team #5 116
6 Castrol Racing #15 114
7 Plus Fitness Racing #7 110
8 Red Bull Holden Racing Team #97 103

There was also change in the fight for fourth in Darwin, with third down to seventh having started the weekend separated by five points.

Andre Heimgartner's Kelly Racing crew led that pack, but had to serve a 15-second time penalty on Saturday for a restart infringement.

The Plus Fitness Altima recorded the slowest pit entry-to-exit time and scored five points, accounting for DNFs.

It falls to seventh in the order, with Chaz Mostert's Supercheap Auto Racing crew now fourth.

Garage mates of Mostert and Heimgartner, the entries of Lee Holdsworth and Rick Kelly sit fifth snd sixth.

Race 15 PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge results

Pos Crew Time
1 Shell V-Power Racing Team #17 34.5779s
2 Penrite Racing #9 35.0794s
3 Freightliner Racing #8 35.1222s
4 Shell V-Power Racing Team #12 35.2468s
5 Red Bull Holden Racing Team #88 35.2724s
6 Monster Energy Racing Team #6 35.3363s
7 Supercheap Auto Racing #5 35.3463s
8 Red Bull Holden Racing Team #97 35.3785s

Scott McLaughlin's Shell V-Power Racing effort took maximum PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge points in Darwin, along with his Triple Crown.

But the defending winner remains down in 14th place after a troubled start, with team-mate Fabian Coulthard 18th.

Penrite Racing was second fastest on Saturday with David Reynolds' Commodore, which sits 10th in the order.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter