Brown pips Whincup in pace stakes: Sydney speed breakdown

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 09/11/2021
  • By James Pavey

Will Brown left the second Sydney Motorsport Park round with the fastest lap of the weekend.

Brown's pole-winning time for Race 23 was the fastest tour of SMSP, albeit a fraction quicker than Jamie Whincup.

At the Bunnings Trade Sydney SuperNight, Brown clocked three of the fastest four race laps of Saturday's night race.

The pace in his Erebus Motorsport Commodore translated to the ARMOR ALL Sydney SuperNight.

Brown helped himself to a maiden ARMOR ALL Pole for just his 33rd start, with Whincup qualifying on the front row.

After the first weekend in Sydney was punctuated by Anton De Pasquale's big margins, last weekend saw the margins tightened.

Critically, De Pasquale had topped both practice sessions but failed to set a time in Saturday qualifying amid a gearbox issue.

Such was Brown's pace on Saturday, that an earlier lap time would have seen him qualify sixth.

The pace was down on the previous week, with the ARMOR ALL Sydney SuperNight featuring Soft and Hard tyres.

De Pasquale topped the night practice session in the first week with a 1:28.806s, and he claimed pole with a 1:28.077s.

The quickest driver in race trim was Scott Pye, who dropped in two near-identical lap times on fresh rubber on Saturday night.

The rain hit the circuit on Sunday night, and the fastest lap of the race - Whincup's 1:42.569s on lap 10 - was 11 seconds off the dry pace.

The 2021 Repco Supercars Championship will resume this weekend at the BP Ultimate Sydney SuperSprint.

Every session of the event will be broadcast live on Foxtel (Fox Sports 506) and streamed on Kayo.

The Seven Network will showcase highlights of the event.

Tickets for the event are on sale now.

Fastest practice laps

Session Driver Time
P2 Anton De Pasquale 1:29.688
P2 Shane van Gisbergen 1:29.850
P1 Anton De Pasquale 1:29.881
P2 Brodie Kostecki 1:30.002
P2 Nick Percat 1:30.078
P2 Will Brown 1:30.145
P2 Will Davison 1:30.174
P2 Jamie Whincup 1:30.245
P2 Scott Pye 1:30.253
P2 Jack Le Brocq 1:30.284

Fastest qualifying laps

Session Driver Time
Q23 Will Brown 1:29.039
Q23 Jamie Whincup 1:29.068
Q23 Brodie Kostecki 1:29.079
Q23 Shane van Gisbergen 1:29.109
Q23 Will Davison 1:29.130
Q23 Will Brown 1:29.151
Q23 Brodie Kostecki 1:29.166
Q23 Shane van Gisbergen 1:29.173
Q23 Jamie Whincup 1:29.216
Q23 Will Davison 1:29.441

Fastest race laps

Session Driver Time
R23 Scott Pye 1:31.460 (lap 16)
R23 Scott Pye 1:31.480 (lap 17)
R23 Jack Le Brocq 1:31.490 (lap 4)
R23 Will Brown 1:31.539 (lap 2)
R23 Chaz Mostert 1:31.586 (lap 7)
R23 Andre Heimgartner 1:31.594 (lap 9)
R24 Chaz Mostert 1:31.654 (lap 14)
R23 Jamie Whincup 1:31.656 (lap 2)
R23 Shane van Gisbergen 1:31.669 (lap 2)
R23 Nick Percat 1:31.693 (lap 13)

Key: Practice (P); Qualifying (Q); Top Ten Shootout (TT); Race (R)

Related Content
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter