All the winners from the Supercars Gala Awards

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 25/11/2019
  • By Stefan Bartholomaeus

The 2019 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship season has been celebrated with the presentation of trophies at the Gala Awards in Sydney.

Scott McLaughlin’s stellar season was capped with receiving the driver-voted Drivers' Driver Award, marking recognition from his peer group.

He received the drivers’ championship trophy for the second consecutive year, while Shell V-Power Racing boss Ryan Story took to the stage to accept the teams' championship honours.

Shane van Gisbergen took out the night’s biggest off-track honour, the Barry Sheene Medal, voted by the media as Supercars’ ‘best and fairest’ driver.

The other media-voted award, the Mike Kable Young Gun, went to Dunlop Super2 teen Tyler Everingham.

The fan-voted categories went to McLaughlin (Most Popular Driver), Penrite Racing (Best Presented Team) and the Vodafone Gold Coast 600 (Best Event).

While there was no Hall of Fame inductee this year, part of the night was dedicated to recognising 2015 inductee Garry Rogers and his departing team’s contribution to the category.

Others recognised included winners of the Dunlop Super2 (Bryce Fullwood), Kumho Super3 (Broc Feeney), Gfinity Supercars Eseries (Josh Rogers) and ECB SuperUtes (Tom Alexander).

Here is the full rundown from the awards, held in Sydney following the weekend’s Coates Hire Newcastle 500.

Barry Sheene Medal: Shane van Gisbergen, Red Bull Holden Racing Team

2019 Supercars Champion: Scott McLaughlin

Supercars Drivers’ Driver: Scott McLaughlin

Champion Team Award: Shell V-Power Racing Team

2019 Supercars ARMOR ALL Pole Position: Scott McLaughlin, Shell V-Power Racing

Champion Manufacturer of the Year: Ford

Most Popular Driver - Fans' Choice: Scott McLaughlin

Best Event - Fans' Choice: Vodafone Gold Coast 600

Mike Kable Young Gun: Tyler Everingham, Matt White Motorsport

Dunlop Super2 Series Champion: Bryce Fullwood, Matt White Motorsport

2019 Dunlop Super2 ARMOR ALL Pole Position: Bryce Fullwood, Matt White Motorsport

Super3 Series Champion: Broc Feeney

ECB SuperUtes Series Champion: Tom Alexander

Gfinity Supercars Eseries Winner: Josh Rogers, Walkinshaw Andretti United

Best Presented Team - Fans' Choice: Penrite Racing

Virgin Australia Best Volunteer Group: Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix

Media Award: Tom Howard

Related Content
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter