All the winners from the Supercars Gala Awards

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 26/11/2018
  • By Stefan Bartholomaeus

Scott McLaughlin has been officially crowned as the 2018 Virgin Australia Supercars Champion at the season-ending Gala Awards in Sydney.

The presentation of the Supercars Championship trophy to the 25-year-old Shell V-Power Racing driver capped a night of celebrations for teams and drivers.

Other highlights from the night included David Reynolds being awarded the Barry Sheene Medal as Supercars’ best and fairest’ for a second consecutive year, as well as winning the Drivers' Driver.

The late Tom Walkinshaw, founder of what is now Walkinshaw Andretti United, was inducted into the Hall of Fame, recognised for his contribution to the championship.

Retiring legend Craig Lowndes was also honoured, taking to the stage to reflect on his career, as well as accept the Bathurst 1000 trophy alongside co-driver Steven Richards.

Here is the full rundown from the awards, held in Sydney following the weekend’s thrilling Coates Hire Newcastle 500.

2018 Supercars Champion: Scott McLaughlin

Barry Sheene Medal: David Reynolds

Supercars Drivers’ Driver: David Reynolds

Champion Team Award: Red Bull Holden Racing Team

Supercars ARMOR ALL Pole Position: Scott McLaughlin

Hall of Fame Inductee: Tom Walkinshaw

Champion Manufacturer of the Year: Holden

Most Popular Driver – Fans’ Choice: Scott McLaughlin

Best Event – Fans’ Choice: Red Rooster Sydney SuperNight 300

Mike Kable Young Gun: Thomas Randle

Dunlop Super2 Series Champion: Chris Pither

Dunlop Super2 ARMOR ALL Pole Position: Chris Pither

ECB SuperUtes Series Champion: Ryal Harris

Boost Mobile Supercars E-Series Winner: Matthew Bink

Best Presented Team – Fans’ Choice: Shell V-Power Racing

Supercars Media Award: Ian O’Brien 

Virgin Australia Best Volunteer Group: CrownBet Darwin Triple Crown

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter