Adelaide joins list of season finale circuits

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 3 Days ago
  • By James Pavey

The Adelaide Parklands Circuit will become the 13th different venue to conclude an ATCC/Supercars season.

The Adelaide 500 will host Supercars season finales until 2026 in a new agreement.

The popular event will conclude the 2022 Repco Supercars Championship on December 1-4.

Adelaide is no stranger to ending a season, having done so in 1974, 1978, 1979 and 1984.

However, those races came at Adelaide International Raceway in the city's outskirts.

The Adelaide Parklands Circuit hosted Supercars season openers for the best part of 20 years.

The world-famous street circuit famously ended Formula 1 seasons between 1985 and 1995.

After a one-year hiatus, the Adelaide 500 returns, and in a big way to help settle the 2022 Supercars championship.

The new defunct Oran Park Raceway hosted the most season finales with 18.

Its very last Supercars round in 2008 also ended that year's championship.

This year's Adelaide 500 will be the first season finale outside New South Wales since 2007.

Phillip Island ended seasons between 2005 and 2007, having first done so in 1976.

Adelaide will be the eighth different circuit this century to end a Supercars season.

The 2022 season will resume at the NTI Townsville 500. Purchase your tickets now.

ATCC/Supercars season finale venues (1969-2022)*

Circuit Year/s
Symmons Plains, TAS 1969-70
Oran Park, NSW 1971-72, 1980, 1985-98
Warwick Farm, NSW 1973
Adelaide International, SA 1974, 1978-79, 1984
Lakeside, QLD 1975, 1981
Phillip Island, VIC 1976-77, 2005-07
Surfers Paradise, QLD 1982
Bathurst, NSW 1999-00, 2020-21
Sandown, VIC 2001-02
Eastern Creek, NSW 2003-2004
Homebush, NSW 2009-16
Newcastle, NSW 2017-19
Adelaide Parklands, SA 2022-

*From 1960 to 1968, the ATCC was decided by a single race

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter