Additional drivers for all cars at Winton

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 17/05/2018
  • By Mitchell Adam

All 26 Supercars will take part in Friday morning’s extra Winton SuperSprint practice session, with nominated additional drivers.

Winton this weekend and Queensland Raceway in July will host 30-minute sessions before Practice 1 that essentially offer PIRTEK Enduro Cup co-drivers extra laps.

Only two co-drivers will be absent on Friday morning, with US-based Alex Premat not making the trip and Dale Wood unavailable.

Premat was part of a larger group to miss the corresponding session in 2017, in which 22 of the 26 full-time cars took to a wet Winton.

As was the case in 2017, Shell V-Power Racing has cross-entered Tony D’Alberto for its Falcons of Fabian Coulthard and Premat’s partner Scott McLaughlin for the session.

Wood’s place in Tim Blanchard’s CoolDrive Commodore will be filled by Dunlop Super2 Series driver Adam Marjoram.

Marjoram and fellow Super2 racer Bryce Fullwood will both get their first taste of a main game session, Fullwood with Matt Stone Racing.

Fullwood is expected to be Todd Hazelwood’s co-driver but that is still to be confirmed by the first-year squad, with all other teams having named their 2018 co-drivers.

Friday morning will also be two-time Le Mans 24 Hour winner Earl Bamber’s first outing in the Red Bull Holden Racing Team Commodore he will share with Shane van Gisbergen.

Bamber’s Porsche GT program in the IMSA SportsCar Championship includes a date clash with the other additional session at Queensland Raceway.

Erebus Motorsport has cross-entered Luke Youlden and newcomer Will Brown across its Commodores of David Reynolds and Anton De Pasquale.

The squad is, though, considered unlikely to split 2017 Bathurst winners Reynolds and Youlden.

Garry Rogers Motorsport is also yet to formally outline its pairings, but has entered Chris Pither in Garth Tander’s Commodore and Richard Muscat in James Golding’s.

If Erebus keeps Reynolds and Youlden together, 10 of last year’s Enduro Cup pairings will remain intact.

Tickford Racing and Nissan Motorsport have undergone the biggest changes, with three of each team’s four combinations new this year.

The Ford squad has even split 2017 Enduro Cup winners Chaz Mostert and Steve Owen, and gave all of its co-drivers laps in the Sydney Motorsport Park pre-season test.

It was not alone on that front, while Preston Hire Racing also afforded new recruit Matt Brabham a brief stint at the start of practice at Barbagallo Raceway.

Winton additional practice entry list

Car #TeamDriverAdditional driver
1Red Bull Holden Racing TeamJamie WhincupPaul Dumbrell
2Mobil 1 Boost Mobile RacingScott PyeWarren Luff
5The Bottle-O Racing TeamMark WinterbottomDean Canto
6Monster Energy RacingCameron WatersDavid Russell
7Plus Fitness RacingAndre HeimgartnerAaren Russell
8Blackwoods RacingNick PercatMacauley Jones
9Erebus Penrite RacingDavid ReynoldsLuke Youlden/Will Brown
12Shell V-Power Racing TeamFabian CoulthardTony D'Alberto
14Freightliner RacingTim SladeAsh Walsh
15Castrol RacingRick KellyGarry Jacobson
17Shell V-Power Racing TeamScott McLaughlinTony D'Alberto
19Tekno AutosportsJack Le BrocqJonathon Webb
21Team CoolDriveTim BlanchardAdam Marjoram
23Drive RacingMichael CarusoDean Fiore
25Mobil 1 Boost Mobile RacingJames CourtneyJack Perkins
33Wilson Security Racing GRMGarth TanderChris Pither
34Wilson Security Racing GRMJames GoldingRichard Muscat
35Bigmate RacingTodd HazelwoodBryce Fullwood
55Supercheap Auto RacingChaz MostertJames Moffat
56MEGA RacingRichie StanawaySteve Owen
78Team Harvey NormanSimona De SilvestroAlex Rullo
97Red Bull Holden Racing TeamShane van GisbergenEarl Bamber
99Erebus Thermosphere RacingAnton De PasqualeWill Brown/Luke Youlden
230Milwaukee RacingWill DavisonAlex Davison
400Preston Hire RacingLee HoldsworthMatthew Brabham
888Autobarn Lowndes RacingCraig LowndesSteven Richards
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter