47 and counting: Tassie's place in Supercars history

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 30/03/2021
  • By James Pavey

A number of circuits are slated to return in 2021 following COVID-19-enforced absences last season.

One such returning venue is the iconic Symmons Plains Raceway in Tasmania, which is set to return next weekend.

The upcoming Beaurepaires Tasmania SuperSprint will be the 48th ATCC/Supercars event at the 2.4km circuit.

Only Sandown Motor Raceway, which hosted the second round of the 2021 Repco Supercars Championship earlier this month, has hosted more championship events.


The short yet fast circuit made its championship debut in 1969, with Norm Beechey steering a Holden Monaro GTS 327 to victory.

Perth’s Wanneroo Raceway (42) and Winton Motor Raceway (32) are the only active venues to have hosted more than 30 events.

In 47 visits, 29 drivers have won races, with Jamie Whincup leading the way with a staggering 12 wins.

Of active drivers, Whincup is the winningest driver at nine of the 2021 championship’s 11 venues.

All-time, regarding active venues, he is the winningest driver at Symmons Plains, Townsville (12), in New Zealand (10) and Surfers Paradise (nine).

Van Gisbergen won the last Tasmanian race in 2019

Five active drivers have won races at Symmons Plains; Whincup (12 wins), Fabian Coulthard and Shane van Gisbergen (three), Will Davison (two) and Mark Winterbottom (one).

Van Gisbergen won the most recent race at Symmons Plains in 2019, with Scott McLaughlin taking his only victory at the circuit a day earlier.

Whincup is also level with Peter Brock with eight pole positions at the circuit, ahead of Craig Lowndes and Winterbottom (both with six).

The Repco Supercars Championship field will return to Symmons Plains for the Beaurepaires Tasmania SuperSprint across April 10-11. Tickets are on sale now.

The event will be broadcast live on Foxtel and will be streamed on Kayo.

Most championship events by active venues*

Ch'ship events Venue
51 Sandown Raceway
47 Symmons Plains Raceway
42 Wanneroo Raceway
32 Winton Motor Raceway
29 Mount Panorama
25 Sydney Motorsport Park
24 Hidden Valley Raceway
19 New Zealand (Pukekohe 2001-07, 13-19; Hamilton 2008-12)
18 Surfers Paradise Street Circuit
13 Townsville Street Circuit
4 The Bend Motorsport Park

*Correct to the Penrite Oil Sandown SuperSprint

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter