14 of the best: All BJR wins ranked

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 10/02/2021
  • By James Pavey

The 2021 Repco Supercars Championship looms as another strong season for Brad Jones Racing, which returned to the top step of the podium last year.

The Albury-based team continues to punch above its weight, and enters the new season with an unchanged line-up.

Having claimed wins, poles and podiums in 2020, the team should expect nothing but gains.

After a wait of over four years, Nick Percat ended BJR's win drought at Sydney Motorsport Park when the 2020 season resumed amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

Percat, who looms as a 2021 dark horse, kept BJR at the front and won at the following event, going on to finish a career-best seventh overall.

Armed with continuity, BJR is well-placed to aim even higher in 2021, and will be looking to hit the ground running at the season-opening Repco Mt Panorama 500. Tickets for the event are on sale now.

Ahead of BJR's 2021 campaign, Supercars.com ranks the team's 14 victories .

14) Bright ends drought

Fabian Coulthard won two races in Tasmania in 2013, and Jason Bright made it a clean sweep when he scored a first win in two years.

Bright defeated Garth Tander by nearly four seconds, with Coulthard making it a BJR one-three result.

13) Coulthard defeats Whincup

Jamie Whincup was the leading force when the category headed Stateside in 2013, but Coulthard halted the eventual champion's dominant Austin run with victory in the third race of the weekend.

The Kiwi held onto his victory despite breaching Safety Car regulations.

12) Bright dominates in NZ

Bright won the first of four races at Pukekohe in 2014 after Whincup suffered a power steering issue.

An incident between Chaz Mostert and David Wall saw the latter crash heavily, shortening the race by two laps and helping Bright to a second New Zealand win in as many years.

11) Coulthard's maiden win

Coulthard made it three wins at the preceding non-championship event at Albert Park, but headed to the Apple Isle desperate to claim a first points-paying victory.

He made it count at Symmons Plains in the debut of the 60/60 format, ousting pole man Whincup after a bold overtake two laps into the second 25-lap sprint.

10) Fabian flies in Winton

Coulthard's only win in 2014 was a dominant one at Winton, and it came after he smashed the old qualifying lap record to claim pole.

Multiple Safety Cars threatened to take it away, but Coulthard was assured and raced away to victory by over five seconds.

9) Percat wins again

Percat's second win in as many events in 2020 was a crushing affair, with the 2011 Bathurst winner running both stints on soft tyres.

He came home almost nine seconds clear of his nearest rival, having started third.

8) Slade's double delight

Tim Slade proved his previous day's win at Winton was no fluke, defying reigning champion Mark Winterbottom by 6.8s.

It came after a nervous Safety Car restart, but after he stopped for fresh rubber with with 27 laps remaining, he gave Winterbottom no chance.

7) Coulthard doubles up

A second win of the weekend for Coulthard came after a spectacular 160kmh head-on crash for Scott Pye, which nearly ended the race early.

Winterbottom was leading, but he was passed by a rampant Coulthard with just three laps remaining after the restart.

6) BJR's first win

Bright claimed his first win since 2006, and BJR's first, with victory in an incident-packed race in Perth.

The start was delayed after a shocking start-line incident with Karl Reindler and Steve Owen, but that didn't stop Bright romping to victory, with Jason Bargwanna making it a BJR one-three result.

5) Percat dominates SMSP

Percat's first win in four years was a brilliant performance; after starting sixth, he muscled past pole sitter Whincup late on and drove away to career win No. 3.

It came in his 200th start, and was his first since an Adelaide triumph for Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport in 2016.

4) Slade's breakthrough

In his 227th race, Slade led every lap outside the pitstop cycle and cruised to a maiden victory by over four seconds.

It came after he clinched pole for the race, with Slade becoming the ninth different winner from 10 races in 2016.

3) Coulthard aces Adelaide

Coulthard's fifth and final BJR win came on the big stage, with the Kiwi storming into a shock championship lead after taking victory in an action-packed second race in Adelaide.

It was his and BJR's first win on the Adelaide streets, with Coulthard sharing the podium with James Courtney and Craig Lowndes.

2) Bright wins for JR

The scriptwriters were again on song in New Zealand as Bright claimed an emotional victory to secure the maiden Jason Richards Trophy.

The weekend had produced several key moments, such as rookie Scott McLaughlin becoming the youngest ever driver to win a championship race, before Whincup and Winterbottom clashed fighting for victory.

Starting on pole for the finale, Bright produced a magnificent performance, and honoured his late friend in the best possible fashion.

1) Emotional Winton triumph

Bright completed a remarkable storm through the field to win in Winton; with four laps remaining, he swept around the outside of Whincup to claim the lead.

With rain looming, Bright played the long game, and passed three rivals in the final five laps to hang on. In an emotional moment, an elated Richards joined Bright on the podium.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter