10 stats that mattered: Repco Bathurst 1000

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 06/12/2021
  • By James Pavey

The Repco Bathurst 1000 has been run and won, it was Walkinshaw Andretti United which took home the spoils.

Chaz Mostert and Lee Holdsworth won from pole, with Mostert holding off champion-elect Shane van Gisbergen.

A van Gisbergen puncture opened the door to Cameron Waters and Brodie Kostecki, who rounded out the podium.

Supercars.com lists the 10 key statistics from the 12th and final round of the season.

10) Years since WAU stood on the Bathurst top step; Garth Tander and Nick Percat won in 2011 for the Holden Racing Team.

18) How many starts Holdsworth needed to record his first Great Race win. Only Paul Morris waited longer.

2801) Days between Holdsworth's 2014 victory at Winton and his Bathurst win on Sunday.

106) The laps led by the race-winning #25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online Commodore. There were 18 cars on the lead lap.

3) Mostert finished third in the points standings, marking his best ever championship finish. He finished fifth in 2017, 2019 and 2020.

6:15:06.195s) The race-winning time; only five Bathurst 1000s have gone faster.

3) Number of cars which gained 10 or more positions. Todd Hazelwood/Dean Fiore moved from 18th to eighth, Macauley Jones/Chris Pither 10 positions to 12th, and Garry Jacobson/Dylan O'Keeffe moving up 11 positions.

18) Years between David Russell's Bathurst debut and his run to third on Sunday with Brodie Kostecki.

2:03.373) Mostert's record-breaking lap to score pole; it is the new practice/qualifying record.

211) The end margin in points between van Gisbergen and Jamie Whincup in the 2021 Repco Supercars Championship.

The 13-event 2022 Repco Supercars Championship will commence in Newcastle next year. Tickets for the event are on sale now.

The 13-round draft calendar was released on Sunday.

Related Content
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter