10 stats that mattered: OTR SuperSprint

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 10/05/2021
  • By James Pavey

The return to South Australia saw Supercars stage another memorable event at The Bend Motorsport Park.

The OTR SuperSprint of 2021 will go down as an historic weekend punctuated by new winners and championship-changing drama.

At the centre of it all was the Blue Oval, with Ford enjoying one of its strongest weekends in some time.

In the wake of the Tailem Bend weekend, Supercars.com has listed 10 of the most defining statistics from a thrilling weekend of racing at The Bend.

400) Ford’s quadruple century

Anton De Pasquale’s Race 10 win was the 400th for Ford in ATCC/Supercars Championship history, 57 years after the Blue Oval’s first.

3) Waters’ triple

161) Andre’s wait ends

Heimgartner’s win came in the Kelly Grove Racing driver’s 161st race start. He made his debut for Super Black Racing on the mountain as a teenager in 2014.

Cameron Waters won his third career race in the weekend finale, and his second at The Bend Motorsport Park, having won on the West Circuit last September.

223) Ford ends its wait

Andre Heimgartner’s Race 9 win on Saturday was the first win by a Ford driver since Waters’ Race 30 win last year.

21) Another Percat masterclass

Heimgartner was the headline on Saturday, but Nick Percat’s stunning performance, with the Brad Jones Racing driver vaulting from 26th and last to fifth, deserved more praise.

190) SVG’s lead swells

Van Gisbergen extended his series lead to a season-high 190 points, having entered the weekend 139 points ahead Red Bull Ampol Racing teammate Jamie Whincup.

10) Anton in a hurry

De Pasquale needed just 10 races to become a Shell V-Power Racing Team race winner, having scored two podiums at the previous event in Tasmania.

5) Davison racks them up

De Pasquale’s teammate Will Davison scored his fourth and fifth podiums of his 2021 campaign on Sunday, moving the two-time Bathurst winner into fourth overall.

8) Randle impresses

Thomas Randle avoided the first-lap carnage to score a brilliant eighth in Race 10, having started 14th.

1) Ford driver first

For the first time in championship history, three different Ford drivers shared the three wins on the one weekend; Heimgartner, De Pasquale and Waters.

The Repco Supercars Championship field will return to Victoria for the Winton SuperSprint across May 29-30. Tickets are available here.

The event will be broadcast live on Foxtel and will be streamed on Kayo with highlights on 7 and 7 Plus.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter