Van Gisbergen completes cleansweep

  • Supercars All Stars Eseries
  • |
  • 20/05/2020
  • By Connor O'Brien

Red Bull Holden Racing Team ace Shane van Gisbergen has become the first driver to score a cleansweep of a BP Supercars All Stars Eseries round.


Van Gisbergen backed up his Charlotte success earlier tonight by winning both Daytona heats to take a provisional 64-point championship lead from Scott McLaughlin.

The 2016 Supercars champion enjoyed a stellar battle with Anton De Pasquale in the middle race of the night, with the latter gaining the lead by undercutting his rival during the pit sequence.

However, van Gisbergen would reclaim first with a smooth move on lap 7 of 10.

From there, he would narrowly hold off De Pasquale, with Chaz Mostert completing the podium.

David Reynolds made it two Penrite Racing cars in the top five, finishing just behind fourth-placed Garry Jacobson.

For the finale, van Gisbergen’s chief rival De Pasquale found immediate trouble, not making the start in time and instead having to work his way through the field from pitlane.

It would turn out to be a straightforward race for the #97 Commodore, taking the chequered flag almost five seconds ahead of Mostert, who passed Jacobson on the final lap.

McLaughlin had an incident-filled night but managed to recover to fourth in the finale, with De Pasquale fighting back to fifth.

Star wildcard Lando Norris also had a troubled night, placing 18th, 14th and 27th in the three races.

Behind van Gisbergen and McLaughlin, Cameron Waters remains third in the Eseries standings – although now 199 points adrift – ahead of De Pasquale, Mostert and Andre Heimgartner in fourth through sixth. 

Round 8 next week will be held at Imola and Interlagos, the home of the historic San Marino and Brazilian Grand Prix.

PIRTEK Memorable Moments

Race 21, Charlotte

  • Lap 1: Anton De Pasquale leads the field from Lando Norris
  • Lap 1: Scott McLaughlin makes an unscheduled stop after being sent into a spin
  • Lap 4: Norris takes the lead from Shane van Gisbergen and De Pasquale follows him through
  • Lap 9: van Gisbergen regains the lead, only for Norris to re-pass him two laps later
  • Lap 15: Chaz Mostert passes Norris and then van Gisbergen to take the lead
  • Lap 17: Norris loses out from the front battle pack, spinning and facing the wrong way
  • Lap 22: Jamie Whincup passes Jack Le Brocq for the effective lead, with Will Davison the last driver yet to stop
  • Lap 24: Competition caution called
  • Lap 29: Green flags waved with Whincup leading from Le Brocq
  • Lap 30: Whincup and Le Brocq make contact, dropping well back
  • Lap 32: Cars reach the start-finish line just before the race goes time certain
  • Lap 33: van Gisbergen just holds on from Cameron Waters and Fabian Coulthard

Race 22, Daytona

  • Lap 1: McLaughlin cuts the track and is punted off by Scott Pye shortly after. Pye cops a drive-through penalty
  • Lap 4: van Gisbergen leads from the Penrite Racing duo of De Pasquale and Dave Reynolds
  • Lap 4: De Pasquale pits
  • Lap 5: van Gisbergen pits from the lead but has been undercut by De Pasquale. McLaughlin is yet to stop
  • Lap 7: A gaggle of cars make contact including Bryce Fullwood, Coulthard, Norris and Mark Winterbottom
  • Lap 7: van Gisbergen re-passes De Pasquale for the lead and holds it from there

Race 23, Daytona

  • Lap 1: McLaughlin caught up in more early dramas but hangs on; Le Brocq is handed a drive-through penalty but that sanction is later agreed to be put under review
  • Lap 2: van Gisbergen leads from Mostert, Reynolds and Garry Jacobson. De Pasquale sits 21st, having missed the race start
  • Lap 2: McLaughlin makes an early pitstop
  • Lap 4: Todd Hazelwood is spun by Chris Pither amid a feisty battle pack
  • Lap 6: Race leader van Gisbergen makes his first stop and holds the lead
  • Lap 8: Mostert makes a nice pass on Reynolds and Jacobson follows him through a few corners later
  • Lap 11: Last couple of cars make their final stops, clearing the way for van Gisbergen to lead as he strives for a rare cleansweep of the round
  • Lap 12: Waters is put into the fence by Coulthard, forcing the Monster Energy Mustang to make a costly extra stop
  • Lap 16: Mostert passes Jacobson for second but no one can stop van Gisbergen who wins three from three for the night
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter