Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
Penalty 0
Average Qualifying Position 21.0
Average finishing Position 22.7


Place of birth
Melbourne, Victoria December 1974
Gold Coast, QLD
Outside of Racing
A motorsport nut!
Personal Vehicle
Sam Potter (Enduro Cup)

Half of last year's PIRTEK Enduro Cup winning combination, Steve Owen moves within Tickford Racing's co-driver line-up in 2018.

Having taken the silverware with Chaz Mostert in 2017, Owen this year lends his vast experience to Supercars rookie Richie Stanaway.

Owen joined Tickford as a co-driver in 2013, teaming with Will Davison that year, Mark Winterbottom in 2014 and '15, and Mostert in '16 and 17.

He first appeared as an endurance driver with Garry Rogers Motorsport in 1999, after finishing second in the Australian Formula Ford Championship.

It took until 2005 for Owen to nail down a full-time Supercars drive, with Britek, but even then he was forced to miss a handful of races due to grid capacity.

He contested a pair of seasons with Rod Nash Racing, then headed back to the Dunlop Super2 Series in 2008, winning the title for the first time.

A second followed in 2010 with Greg Murphy Racing, making Owen one of only two multiple champions, Dean Canto the other.

That year, Owen really stamped his credentials as Jamie Whincup’s endurance co-driver at TeamVodafone.

The duo took pole at Phillip Island – the then-500km pre-cursor to Bathurst – finished runners-up at Mount Panorama and won on the Gold Coast.

Those results helped propel Owen back into a full-time drive after three years out, in 2011 with Paul Morris Motorsport and '12 with a four-car Dick Johnson Racing.

Since then, he has been a key part of Tickford's enduro plans.

Season Progress

Event Race Qualifying Finish Championship
2018 Sandown 500 ›
Race 24 › 20 20 47
2018 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 ›
Race 25 › 17 22 48
2018 Vodafone Gold Coast 600 ›
Race 26 › 26 26 51

Vehicle detail

Ford Falcon FG X
Monster Energy Racing and Racing

Established in December 2002 after UK giant Prodrive bought Glenn Seton Racing, this four-Ford squad becomes known as Tickford Racing in 2018.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter