Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
Penalty 0
Average Qualifying Position 9.0
Average finishing Position 14.7


Place of birth
Casino, NSW, January 1982
Outside of Racing
Extreme sports, water skiing, motocross
Personal Vehicle
Brad Wischusen
Follow David Russell

David Russell joins Tickford Racing and defending Sandown 500 winner Cameron Waters for this year’s PIRTEK Enduro Cup.

Russell has been a Supercars enduro regular since teaming up with Jonathon Webb in a Dick Johnson Racing Falcon in 2010, while a Dunlop Super2 Series frontrunner, the pair finishing sixth at Sandown.

He moved to Kelly Racing in 2011, staying with the squad through its Holden-to-Nissan transition and grabbing a podium with Rick Kelly on the Gold Coast in ’15.

After seven seasons with the Kelly operation, Russell switches to the four-car Tickford squad in 2018.

Originally a gun in speedway and production car racing (in a Proton Satria, of all things), Russell won the 2002 Chance of a Lifetime competition and a drive in the ’03 Dunlop Series.

Russell showed speed and was nominated for the Mike Kable Rookie of the Year Award after finishing 12th in the championship.

Winner of his class in the Australian Production Car Championship two years running, Russell then turned his focus to the Porsche Carrera Cup, where he was a mainstay for the three seasons.

In 2008 he scored his first race win in Adelaide, and went on to finish third in the series before returning to Supercars and the Dunlop Series.

Russell has nine Super2 wins to his name and a best of third in the 2009 and ’11 standings, and an array of GT experience at home and abroad under his belt.

Season Progress

Event Race Qualifying Finish Championship Sandown 500 ›
Race 24 › 13 13 40
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 ›
Race 25 › 6 23 44
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 ›
Race 26 › 8 8 41

Vehicle detail

Ford Falcon FG X
Monster Energy Racing and Racing

Established in December 2002 after UK giant Prodrive bought Glenn Seton Racing, this four-Ford squad becomes known as Tickford Racing in 2018.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter