PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge



In 2023 entrants will compete as ‘Teams’ as opposed to ‘Cars’. Teams are defined by Pit boom, with each Team comprising two Cars. The fastest Pit Stop by either Car within each Team from each race will count towards the “Preliminary Races” point score. For avoidance of doubt a single Car Team paired by a Pit boom will be deemed a two-Car Team and a single Car Team with a single Pit boom will also count for Pit Stop Challenge points.

What is a Pit Stop?

The Compulsory Pit Stop (CPS) is as required by Schedule A2 of Supercars 2023 Operations Manual. Should a Team complete multiple stops in a race which comply with the requirement of a CPS, the quickest time of all will be used to calculate points. Should a Team fail to complete a CPS in a race, no points will be awarded to that Team for that race.

How are points earnt?

Points will be earned on a descending scale per race, with the quickest Pit Stop earning 13 points, second quickest earning 12 points and so on, with the slowest time earning 1 point. If a Driver or Team incurs a penalty in completing the Compulsory Pit Stop(s), the Car will be disqualified (see below), resulting in no points for that race.

How is a Pit Stop timed?

The Pit Stop time used in calculating points is the duration between crossing the Pit entry line and Pit exit line, as recorded by Timing. This Pit Stop time is final.

BJR crews face off in PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge final

Can a Pit Stop time be disqualified?

A Pit Stop time can be disqualified for various reasons, as noted below:

  • A Pit Lane speeding infringement.

  • A breach of any Rule in D3, D11, D17, and D23 of Supercars 2023 Operations Manual.

  • Any Pit Lane infringement as decided by the Stewards.

Any Pit Stop time disqualification is final and is not subject to an appeal. Any Car disqualified will not have its time considered. The Team points will then be determined using the Pit Stop of the remaining eligible Car from that Team.

What if there’s a Safety Car during a race?

To avoid any potential impact for a BP Ultimate Safety Car to influence Teams’ performance in Pit Lane and therefore results, any race where a Safety Car is called will not count toward the point score.

What if multiple Teams finish on equal points?

In the event of two or more Teams being equal on points at the conclusion of the Preliminary Races, the Teams best individual performance across the Preliminary Races will be used to rank the Teams. For example, if over the Preliminary Races, Team A earns a best score of 10 points and Team B earns 11 points, regardless of the Preliminary Race in which those points were earnt, Team B will place higher on the table.If this fails to break the tie, then the Team’s second-best individual performance regardless of the Preliminary Race will be used and so on until the tie is broken.


Preliminary Races^This year multiple* races will decide which four (4) Teams move onto the live finals:

  • Race 3: Beaurepaires Melbourne SuperSprint

  • Race 4: Beaurepaires Melbourne SuperSprint

  • Race 5: Beaurepaires Melbourne SuperSprint

  • Race 6: Beaurepaires Melbourne SuperSprint

  • Race 7: Bosch Power Tools Perth SuperSprint

  • Race 8: Bosch Power Tools Perth SuperSprint

  • Race 9: Bosch Power Tools Perth SuperSprint

  • Race 10: NED Whisky Tasmania SuperSprint

  • Race 11: NED Whisky Tasmania SuperSprint

  • Race 12: NED Whisky Tasmania SuperSprint

  • Race 13: betr Darwin Triple Crown

  • Race 14: betr Darwin Triple Crown

  • Race 15: betr Darwin Triple Crown

  • Race 19: Beaurepaires Sydney SuperNight

  • Race 20: OTR SuperSprint

  • Race 21: OTR SuperSprint

  • Race 22: OTR SuperSprint

*Schedule subject to change as events and event formats are confirmed.^All the above races require one compulsory Pit Stop (CPS).The top four (4) Teams from the above Preliminary Races will compete in a live eliminator final at a round to be confirmed. The winner will receive the PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge Golden Rattle Gun and a cash prize.


Preliminary Races

At the completion of the Preliminary Races segment for the PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge program, the top three Teams on the PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge Leader board will be awarded the following prize pool ($AUD):

1st = $5,500 2nd = $3,500 3rd = $2,000

Live Final

The winner of the Live Final to be held at Repco Bathurst 1000. The following prizing will be awarded ($AUD):

1st = $20,000

Rules surrounding the Live Final will be distributed to relevant Teams closer to the Event.