Falcon’s Final Bathurst

Salute the Ford Falcon in its final year on the mountain!

Since Harry Firth and Fred Gibson piloted the XR GT in 1967, the Falcon has been an institution on the Mountain.

This year the Falcon has its final Bathurst farewell, ending an era spanning six decades. In that time it has had 18 pole positions, registered the fastest lap and had recorded 14 epic victories.

Ford is the longest serving nameplate that Australian motorsport has ever seen, doing battle with everyone from Holden to Chrysler, Nissan, Mercedes, Volvo and many more.  Ford’s legendary battles and staying power is now part of Australian sporting folklore

This is an end of an era and cause for celebration as we salute the Ford Falcon in its final year on the mountain.

Will 2018 bring a 15th and final victory for a fitting Falcon farewell? You will have to be there to find out.

Get your tickets here!

Falcon Facts

  • The Ford Falcon has been on the grid of Australia’s iconic race since Harry Firth and Fred Gibson piloted the XR GT in 1967
  • At least one Falcon has been on the grid for the great race in 44 of the event’s 53 years (1967-1984 and 1992-2017), making this the 45th year of Falcon in the Bathurst endurance classic.
  • In that time the Falcon has 14 victories and 18 Pole Positions – equal with Holden
  • The Falcon holds the qualifying record at Bathurst – Scott McLaughlin’s sizzling lap last year
  • Allan Moffat is Falcons most successful driver at the Mountain with four victories, including victory in the most famous Falcon the XYGT HO Phase III


Famous winning Falcons

  • Ford Falcon XR GT – first winner in 1967 driven by Firth and Gibson
  • Ford Falcon XW GT-HO PhII and PhIII – back to back wins Allan Moffat 1970/71
  • Ford Falcon XD – 1981 winner driven by Dick Johnson and John French (the year after the famous Rock incident)
  • Ford Falcon BA/BF – 2006-7-8 Only three consecutive wins by Craig Lowndes and Jamie Whincup