Holden Racing Team

Holden Racing Team


Clayton, VIC
Best championship result
Best Bathurst Result
Total Race Wins
Total Pole Positions
Follow Holden Racing Team

Having celebrated its 25th anniversary last year, in 2016 Holden’s official factory racing team is looking to add to its storied history as one of Australia’s great sporting success stories.

Winning Bathurst on debut in 1990, HRT hit its straps in the mid-1990s with the emergence of Craig Lowndes and the late, great Peter Brock, before drivers like Greg Murphy, Mark Skaife, Jason Bright and Todd Kelly pushed the team to the mantle as the most successful touring car team in V8 Supercars history.

In 2008, reigning V8 Supercars Champion Garth Tander joined the team, with Will Davison replacing the retiring Mark Skaife the following year. The team’s successes continued in 2009 with a clean sweep at Phillip Island, a Bathurst victory, and the Teams’ Championship.

2010 V8 Supercars Champion James Courtney joined Tander in 2011, returning to the team with which he made his V8 Supercars enduro debut six years before.

The pair impressed, with Courtney winning in Abu Dhabi and Tander sealing the deal in Adelaide, Townsville and Bathurst (with rookie Nick Percat for the team’s seventh Bathurst crown, and its 200th all-time race win – an Australian record).

2012 was a rebuilding year for HRT, leading into a very rewarding 2013 season with the new VF Commodore for three wins.

In 2013/14, Tander and Courtney went back-to-back with famous 1, 2 results in Townsville, while last year JC took out his second straight Clipsal 500.

In 2016, Tander and Courtney enter their sixth season together as team-mates at HRT – a team record – the pair hoping to build on the late season momentum it showed last year.


James Courtney

Holden Racing Team

Jack Perkins

Holden Racing Team

Garth Tander

Holden Racing Team

Warren Luff

Holden Racing Team

Team Cars

Holden Commodore VF
James Courtney
Holden Commodore VF
Garth Tander
Key Members
Team Owner
Ryan Walkinshaw
Team Principal
Adrian Burgess
Team Manager
Anthony McDonald
Engineer Car #2
Alex Somerset
Engineer Car #22
Rob Starr

latest News

Pye aims high

Scott Pye sets personal goals high as he looks to deliver results for Walkinshaw in 2017.

On this day: Courtney Joins HRT

Six years ago the-then reigning champion made the move to Holden.
Next Event
Clipsal 500 Adelaide
In Progress
Practice 1
Mixed Tyres
single driver
Track Length
what's on
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter