Emerson King of the Mountain

  • 18/12/2013
  • By Dylan Sharman
  • Support Categories

Mount Panorama has been at the core of Australian motorsport since it was opened in 1938 and 75 year later it has now become the highlight of a virtual series of racing.

Round six of the iRacing.com V8 Supercar Series came visited the 6.213km circuit but the question everyone was asking, who would be king of the mountain for the very first time in the series history!

Qualifying went the way of TTL with another front row lock-out, Richard Hamstead topping the time sheets with a 2:05.213 and John Emerson would start alongside with a 2:05.323. Josh Muggleton and Rens Broekman would start from the second row while Michael Fabian and Dean O'Brien started from the third row. Madison Down, Shaun Kelly, Beau Cattell and Wayne C Bourke rounded out the top 10 starters.

Hamstead took the early lead while Muggleton and Emerson went side by side into turn two, Emerson being on the outside got left hung out to dry and fell back behind Broekman into fourth. Tony Autridge would be the first driver to DNF from the race when he lost control coming out of the chase and spun into the wall before the ARMOR ALL bridge.

Hamstead would lead all the way to the first pit stop but it was Muggleton who came out in front with Broekman in second, Emerson in third and Hamstead now in fourth.

Fabian also getting the jump on Down and moving back into the top five but it didn't take long for Down to move back ahead of Fabian although it would require a massive push to close the gap to the leaders.

Broekman made a move on the leader into the chase but went too deep under brakes and over shot allowing Muggleton to continue leading the race. The contact allowed Emerson to pounce and move into second behind Muggleton.

The following lap Muggleton made a rare mistake into the cutting allowing Emerson to move into the lead, Muggleton gradding too much kerb sending him sideways and into the wall. Broekman and Hamstead moved into second and third with Muggleton now back in fourth place.

Back in the pack there was some big movers with Leigh Day moving up 7 positions from 18th to 11th while Ian Ford and Guy Leach moving up 5 places during the race aswell.

John Emerson would dominate the rest of the race once he took over the lead and brought home a TTL 1-2 as Richard Hamstead made a last lap lunge on Broekman into the chase and even though contact was made Hamstead was able to save it and Broekman showing good sportsmanship allowed Hamstead to continue on and take second as he settled for third.

Josh Muggleton brought a bent Tatts.com Falcon home in fourth place while teammate Madison Down came home in fifth. Michael Fabian finished in sixth place with Dean O'Brien in seventh. O'Briens multi 21’ed team mate Beau Cattell finished in eighth place just ahead of Scott U'Ren and Ian Ford who had great battles between themselves throughout the race.

Other Split Winners

Split 2 – Jarrad Filsell
Split 3 – Tim Harris
Split 4 – Jeremiah Morton
Split 5 – Joshua Sawtell
Split 6 – Jason Cossey

Championship Standings

1 – John Emerson - 1516
2 – Rens Broekman - 1413
3 – Josh Muggleton - 1409
4 – Richard Hamstead - 1338
5 – Madison Down - 1325

Broadcast done by the crew at www.v8sonline.com.au

Follow Us
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter