Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
Penalty 0
Average Qualifying Position 21.2
Average finishing Position 22.6


Sam Potter
Tauranga, New Zealand; November 24, 1991
Melbourne, Victoria
Outside of Racing
Personal Vehicle
Follow Richie Stanaway

Stanaway makes his full-time Supercars debut this year with Tickford Racing, boasting an impressive international record in both single-seaters and tin-tops.

New Zealand Formula Ford champion in 2009, he went on to be champion in the German ADAC Formula Masters series the following year.

That was after dominating his Toyota Racing Series debut at the 2010 Hamilton 400, taking the outright lap record in front of the Supercar paddock.

He was German Formula 3 champion in 2011, before progressing to win races in GP3 and reach the podium in Formula Renault 3.5, his 2012 program in the latter curtailed by a back injury.

A step up to Formula 1’s major support category GP2 - now known as Formula 2 - in 2015 netted two race wins, including the feature race victory in Monaco.

Stanaway's tin-top experience includes a season in the Porsche SuperCup with the DAMS team in 2013, the year he joined Aston Martin as a factory GT driver.

The Kiwi was part of the British manufacturer’s GTE efforts in the World Endurance Championship and the Le Mans 24 Hours until 2017, taking pole in the GTE Pro class for the French classic in ’15.

Making his Supercars debut, Stanaway impressed in the 2016 PIRTEK Enduro Cup in Prodrive’s Super Black Racing entry and joined Cameron Waters last year.

They took out the Sandown 500 and finished third in the three-event standings, and the 27-year-old now steps up to a full-time drive.

Season Progress

Event Race Qualifying Finish Championship Position
Adelaide 500 ›
Race 2 › 18 20 25
Race 1 › 16 24 25
Coates Hire Supercars Melbourne 400 ›
Race 3 › 24 24 25
Race 4 › 25 25 26
Race 5 › 25 25 26
Race 6 › 20 18 26
Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint ›
Race 7 › 19 25 26
Race 8 › 24 26 26
WD-40 Phillip Island 500 ›
Race 9 › 18 19 26
Race 10 › 23 20 26

Vehicle detail

Ford Falcon FG X
Monster Energy Racing and Tickford Racing

Established in December 2002 after UK giant Prodrive bought Glenn Seton Racing, this four-Ford squad becomes known as Tickford Racing in 2018.

Next Session
Perth SuperSprint
In Progress
Practice 1
Soft Tyres
single driver
Track Length
what's on
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter