Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
Penalty 0
Average Qualifying Position 4.9
Average finishing Position 4.7


David Cauchi
Melbourne, Victoria; February 6, 1983
Gold Coast, Queensland
Outside of Racing
Watersports and push bike riding
Personal Vehicle
Commodore Sports Wagon
Follow Jamie Whincup

The form man of recent times in the Supercars Championship, Jamie Whincup is the 'all-time' champ with six titles to his name.

His last championship victory in 2015 meant he surpassed Dick Johnson, Mark Skaife and Ian ‘Pete’ Geoghegan on the all-time winners list to become the most successful modern day Supercars racer.

Last year, he earned his 100th win at Sydney Motorsport Park to join teammate Craig Lowndes as the only drivers in ‘triple figures’. 

Despite his success, Whincup has had his share of setbacks, dropped by first team boss Garry Rogers after his debut season with Garry Rogers Motorsport in 2003.

Demon fast in karting, Whincup raced Formula Ford in 2000 and was crowned Australian champion in 2002.

Spotted by Rogers, he made his V8 Supercar debut at the Queensland 500 in 2002 before graduating to a full-time position with the team a year later – but a tough year meant he was out of a drive, to only tackle the enduros in 2004.

Given a lifeline by Tasman Motorsport the following year, Whincup responded in style, partnering the late Jason Richards to podium results at Sandown and Bathurst which paved the way to joining Triple Eight Race Engineering for 2006.

Winning on debut in Adelaide, Whincup also won a significant Bathurst in partnership with Craig Lowndes in a successful first season with the team.

He returned in 2007 to challenge for the title, winning four rounds on his way to becoming runner-up to Garth Tander by a mere two points – from then on, he couldn’t be stopped until 2010.

The Triple Eight ace struck back with force in 2011, making him just the second man after Norm Beechey to have won the championship in both a Ford and Holden and going on to take four in a row, winning 2014 with one event to spare.

He lost out to long-time rival Mark Winterbottom with a difficult 2015 that saw him finish fifth in the order.

Whincup traded blows with teammate Shane van Gisbergen last year but fell short at the final event, finishing second in a season he said he was happy with.

Season Progress

Event Race Qualifying Finish Championship Position
Clipsal 500 Adelaide ›
Race 1 › 7 6 6
Race 2 › 10 6 6
Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint ›
Race 3 › 5 2 6
Race 4 › 1 3 3
WD-40 Phillip Island 500 ›
Race 5 › 6 2 3
Race 6 › 3 18 4
Perth SuperSprint ›
Race 7 › 3 3 3
Race 8 › 6 3 3
Winton SuperSprint ›
Race 9 › 4 2 3
Race 10 › 2 2 2
CrownBet Darwin Triple Crown ›
Race 11 › 9 4 2
Race 12 › 2 2 3
Watpac Townsville 400 ›
Race 13 › 2 2 2
Race 14 › 4 1 2
Coates Hire Ipswich SuperSprint ›
Race 15 › 14 20 2
Race 16 › 3 4 2
Red Rooster Sydney SuperSprint ›
Race 17 › 5 3 2
Race 18 › 3 1 2

Vehicle detail

Holden Commodore VF
Red Bull Holden Racing Team

Last year Red Bull Racing Australia broke the record for the most teams’ championships won in Supercars history with a whopping eight first place finishes.

Next Event
Wilson Security Sandown 500
In Progress
Practice 1
PIRTEK Enduro Cup
Soft Tyres
Track Length
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter